Honorary Lecturer

Untitled Document

Johannes Schramm, M.D.
Professor of Neurosurgery
University of Bonn, Bonn, Germany,
Retired Chairman Department of Neurosurgery

Johannes Schramm, M.D. received his MD from the University of Heidelberg in 1972. In 1983 he became associate professor at the University of Erlangen-Nürnberg. In 1989 he was appointed professor and chairman of the Department of Neurosurgery at the University of Bonn and retired in March 2012.

Dr. Schramm has been the president of the EANS (European Association of Neurosurgical Societies) from 2007-2011. . He served as chairman of the Research Committee of the EANS, then as vice-president of the EANS. He was vice-president of the German Society of Neurosurgery, president of the German Academy of Neurosurgery. He served as deputy medical director of the University Hospital in Bonn and later as a member of the supervisory board of the University Medical Center.  He also was second vice-president of the World Federation of Neurological Surgeons 2009-2013.

Dr Schramm is a member of the German Society of Neurosurgery, the EANS, Congress of Neurological Surgeons, American Association of Neurological Surgeons, German and American Academy of Neurosurgery, Academia Eurasiana Neurochirurgica.

He was the organiser and scientific chairman of several international symposia, an EANS winter meeting as well as of several CME courses.  He served as editor of Zentralblatt für Neurochirurgie/Central European Neurosurgery and was the chief editor of the book series “Advances and Technical Standards in Neurosurgery”.

Dr. Schramm’s clinical interests range from glioma surgery to AVMs and epilepsy surgery as well as spine. His research initially focused on experimental cord injury, clinically on development and introduction of intraoperative neurophysiological monitoring, later on gliomas, and surgery for drug-resistant epilepsy.

He is a honorary member of several national societies and received a honorary professorship from the Burdenko Institute. He was a van Wagenen and Theodor Kurze lecturer at the AANS, was an “Honored Guest” at the 2013 CNS congress and was awarded a Lifetime Achievement Award of the AANS. His research was funded by German Research Council grants for more than two decades.

His CV lists over 430 publications and over 50 book chapters.